Tissue Lint

tissuelint

I got so old I now have allergies,
or maybe it’s particulates in air,
but often I’m beset – I sniff and sneeze
repeatedly. I blow my nose and tear
the tissue, marveling at sinus spill.
Too young to tuck a kleenex in my cuff,
I carry them in purse and pocket. Still,
I’ve suffered times I didn’t have enough.

So there are folded tissues in my bag,
and semi-crumpled versions in my jack-
et, hoodie, pockets of my jeans. The drag?
When I neglect to take the tissue back
before the laundry starts: before the glint
of white on clothing flecked with tissue lint.

This entry was posted in Aging, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

