Imagination

eclipse

When I was young I married my best friend –
intelligent and masculine and true –
then ten years later made the marriage end,
but that was caused by us not working through
our issues – he had scars I didn’t see,
and I was fierce and driven in those days.
We foundered on the rocks hormonally
and otherwise. I had to quit or craze.

We neither altered essence in divorce.
Our selves we kept. To varying degrees
we each ignored or learned from it of course –
experience refines identities.
You say he lacked imagination? Nope:
it’s you who fail to give his story scope.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

