June Heat Wave

berkeley

The heat has been remarkable today.
I took a walk in it – that flattened me.
Without A/C or tasks, I tried to lay
as low as possible, and thanked each tree
that frames the yard my cottage occupies.
My object is still comfort, shade, no sports.
It’s 86 at six and no surprise
I’m sipping soda water in old shorts.

I pay a premium to live this near
to ocean, bay – the natural fog-washed air.
And most days I can be outdoors in clear
or under varied skies, but this is rare
oppressive weather, climate I forgot:
when winds reverse, and really, it’s too hot.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

