Mid-Afternoon Lull

sun_and_clouds_191379

I need the sun today or I will drowse
all afternoon – some times are like that when
you get mature. I’ll lose it if I browse
the Internet, or even play ten-ten;
if I don’t move around I’ll fall asleep.
And naps are good but never twice a day;
that’s too much rest to generate the deep
repose I’ll seek tonight but chased away.

I’ll blossom if the sunshine finds my face
and peristalsis moves me to unbend.
I’ll find some open shoes and leave this place,
for now’s too soon to sleep. I comprehend
a little, so I’ll rise and look alive.
I’ll fake it till I wake and fancies thrive.

This entry was posted in Aging, Poetry, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

