Musca Moribunda

cluster

The trellis will be sieged in hungry bees
in 18 days or so, and by late May
I’ll hear the whine mosquitos make, that wheeze
of wings that keeps me tense and sleep at bay.
Some months ahead come spiders that can throw
a web across my doorway overnight.
But now I’m in the time of year I know
by hordes of lazy flies that don’t act right.

They cluster just outside, but to no scent
I can detect, and then become my guests
by chance, I think, with no conveyed intent.
A snap to kill, they’re sorry stupid pests.
I read that flies live weeks – if lucky, four.
But why decide to die by my glass door?

This entry was posted in Critters, Poetry, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

