Pedi

feet

I gave myself a half-assed pedicure,
exfoliating while I soaked my feet
and thinking my activity as sure
a sign of coming spring as noontime heat
and evening light. I polished, moisturized,
and contemplated budding in the yard
while robins flit too fast to be surprised
by cats, whose stare and stalk they disregard.

The weather moves me now to bare my toes,
and light invites my vision up and out.
The season sends a welcome. I expose
more skin to sun, less attitude to doubt.
Preparing to be fond of all and free
of politics, I varnish carelessly.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

