Spinach Frittata

cooking-header

Frittata day again – it’s time to grate
the parmesan, to heat the olive oil
and chop the onions, thaw or lacerate
the spinach, beat the eggs, and bake and broil
till the garnish cheese is crispy gold.
I make it twice a week or so – I’m bored
with cooking it so often, truth be told,
and I would stop if only I abhorred
the taste as much as task, but here’s the rub:
the fact is eggs are perfect energy
I’ve tried a dozen ways, and there’s no sub-
stitute for me, no other recipe.
So weary as I am of cooking this,
I’ll make it once again, to savor bliss.

This entry was posted in Food, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

