Plumbing

pipes

Two days ago my shower wasn’t hot
enough. Oh I had warmth to wash my hair,
but though I edged the lever left, I got
no customary scald. I don’t repair
appliances and never learned to plumb.
I monitored the situation then.
All day the water cooled – I needed some
assistance, and I called at 8 a.m.
just yesterday, secured a plumber quick,
and shook his hand three hours after that.
He tested and assured me. Then he fixed
the water heater and the bathroom tap.
The water’s hot again – no surer sign
of human progress: now my shower’s fine.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

