Atmospheric Streams

screen_shot_2017-01-05_at_5-23-48_pm

I won’t permit anxiety about
this winter rain. So what if there’s a leak?
That’s nothing as depressing as the drought,
and skylights are less trouble than the creek
I nestled near, for ten and seven years.
These current storms are not for me to harp
about, or harbor damp invasive fears –
if something spouts a leak, I’ll get a tarp.

I’ll search for one that’s not the eye-slap blue
of backyard pools – I’ll seek a tarp of brown,
but only if rainwater makes it through.
I won’t obsess or fret. I will not frown,
for I adore the sight and sounds of rain
and never thought we’d get this much again.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

