SITSOL

220px-Cerebral_lobes[1]

I told my kids the spice of life is stress,
but I don’t think they paid me any mind.
They’re mired in a multi-tasking mess
and long to leave anxieties behind.
And yes unmanaged stress will maim a soul,
and sever clever from its origin,
but we have ways to channel and control
that force within, by proper medicine.

It takes a dose of exercise, some rest,
a laugh and any creativity –
whatever builds my self-esteem the best –
and cannabis completes the recipe.
I told my kids and watched them both ignore
me, but they’re busy, and they’re 34.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

