Waiting for a Train

220px-Cerebral_lobes[1]

A little work, some lunch, a shopping walk
are tasks that I’m required to complete
today. The positives: my brother’s talk
about his weekend, moving into heat
from brisk and chill outdoors, the sunshine warm
as kittens draped around my bending nape,
wherever I’m outside a break from storm,
and cotton clouds that swiftly shift their shape.

The benefits outweigh the pains today.
These Mondays mean more boons than I can ask.
I’ve launched the kids and now I get to play,
relieved that I no longer multi-task.
A sofa bed’s a compromise, you see,
that does two jobs with mediocrity.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

