Artifactual

pennies-align

By flinging pennies onto wet concrete,
I chanced to make a pavement excellent
for city walking, bright beneath the feet,
indented where they skidded. All I meant
was lighter pockets – useless pennies thrown
aside – but what I got was lucky art:
a freckled walk that’s flanked by seedlings sown
from mass production, bred to quickly start.

I tried to toss some coins and coined a trend.
Attempts to lose my cents have made me wise.
My walk is copper-speckled – yet I tend
to notice my patina with surprise.
I step less lively now and green appears,
for even pennies win the game of years.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

