Grump

220px-Cerebral_lobes[1]

I wasn’t very civil yesterday.
I rose after a night of broken rest
and everything I noticed had a way
of generating discontent in breast
and snap complaint or argument in head.
I stretched my neck, addressed my hemorrhoid itch,
considered climbing back into my bed,
but groused instead – my neighbor is a bitch.

So reveling in loathing never earned,
I spread my judgment out and captured work.
I criticized my colleagues. Then I turned
the scope on family – my bro’s a jerk,
and Mom’s too narcissistic by a mile.
It cost eight cups of coffee for my smile.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

