Zombies

50483522[1]

Invisible I seem to be, among
the flock of walkers in my neighborhood.
Four times did people neither old nor young
not see the way they cut me off. They stood
instead of walking as they left a store,
or merged to saunter when they should have paced.
Full mindlessly one mother pushed a door,
and all ignored whatever views they faced.

I understand I’m fading with the years,
and solo walkers aren’t noticed much
compared to groups, but these facts can’t resolve
the mystery of numbness. It appears
my fellows don’t use eyes or ears or touch –
we’ve peaked and now we’re starting to devolve.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

