Death Notice

cherry-heering

The email wasn’t long – in seven lines
I learned my ex had died four days ago.
I read the note at lunch’s end – then wine
was insufficient, and I made them go
for Cherry Heering – vile fruity stuff –
I bless the owner who took care of this.
I toasted my ex-husband with a rough
impulsive epigram, and mental kiss.

What happened? Now I wonder. And I think
that day’s his daughter’s birthday. Was he low?
I wouldn’t be surprised if he’d a drink
or two before he left the office. So,
without support, an image now appears –
his vision through a window blurred by tears.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

