The Lesson

nerve-9

For months I’ve had an irritated soul,
and anger drove my mornings many years.
Although I liked myself and had control
of more than most, and less provoked my tears,
my dog reacted like her name was Fuck –
she heard me snap the word ten times a day.
I thought I’d calmed since then, but I’m amok
of late with petulance and hot dismay.

Now I’m away for seven days and nights
from vehicles and mobile phones and noise.
It isn’t fair how pleasant this can get.
I can’t imagine life without more lights,
some crowds of course, and clumps of girls and boys,
but I’ll be wary of the Internet.

This entry was posted in Health, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

