New Law (a Forepoem)

Autosave-File vom d-lab2/3 der AgfaPhoto GmbH

I’m glad this shit is legalized, because
I’m old and it’s too pungent now to hide.
I formed a habit of not flaunting laws
I break, when I was young and terrified.
I outgrew paranoia with bad dreams
and though my private smoking’s ostrich-like
(my gaze averted while the skunk-scent screams
around my door, as if blase I’ll psych
out any pilgrim who should come my way),
I seldom feel so obvious I pause.
But I’ll confess I sometimes move. To stay
and have my neighbors know still feels too raw.
So I’ll continue smoking, but you know
I’ll be aware of who can sense me so.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

