True New Crew?

250px-Out_of_ink

Three times I’ve joined a writers’ group before.
It wasn’t my idea, but I agreed
to weekly prose “assignments” or the more
expansive task of trying what I need
or want to work on. But my colleagues stuck
to feminine biography fast-writ
the night before we met. Their minds were shut
to daily work – they dwindled till they quit.

Three months ago they reenlisted me,
who were the last renegers – now they seem
a dozen times more diligent, and we
have drafted and critiqued a weekly stream
of prose with the potential to disarm:
perhaps a fourth foray will be the charm.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

