To Be

gecko_de_la_gomera_tarentola_gomerensis

The kids are launched – my hardest job is done.
Each married carefully and reproduced.
They work careers they like – they’re having fun –
the presents of the present have them juiced
about the future. I can’t ask for more;
I’m gratified beyond what I express.
I understand they’re busy, but I sure
would like to see the offspring more than less.

But I don’t want to be a guest event.
I’d rather not distract them from their ways.
A visit is disruptive, for it’s meant
to capture memories and scrapbook days.
To live nearby and look on them is all
I want
to be
a gecko on their wall.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

