ABC

balance[1]

I’ve always been unbalanced – either crazed
with too much work to do in scanty time,
or stuck in weekend afternoons, amazed
there’s nothing needed, frittering my prime
away, my part-time fear. And looking long,
I gather I’ll still have to choose between
the stamina to savor, or the strong
protection money makes.

The golden mean
prescribes an equilibrium of goods –
for moderation values treasures best.
I’d engineer more balance if I could:
more time alert at night outside my nest;
and calmer attitude while working hard
these days, with frequent musing in my yard.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

