Sprinkler

lawn

I didn’t plant the sprinklers in the yard –
the man I purchased from had them installed –
and learning how to set them wasn’t hard,
but that’s the only part I learned. One stalled
this season, balky in ascent and wide
where it should focus, hard where it should not.
It’s obviously partly clogged; I tried
with poking toothpick, but its aim was shot.

I turned the top. It came off in my hand!
The water geysered up and stole the spray
from all the other heads. I understand
a little physics, didn’t turn away
or call for help, but yanked and pushed and screwed.
I’m proud to say a proper spray ensued.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

