Headline

leaf (2)

I woke before the light today, because
the sun is lately tardier to rise,
and I know how to read our natural laws,
so as I gave the dog her exercise,
I measured moisture riding on the air,
collected leaves already solid red,
observed I heard no birdsong anywhere,
and pumpkins have usurped the flowers’ bed.

I understand a scant astronomy,
and know the equinox will come next week,
but I have seen the dawn’s economy
and read the leaves, and heard the silence speak.
So as my dog retrieves her tennis ball,
I face the sky and I declare it’s fall.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

