The Latest Complaint

how-to-build-first-aid-kit[1]

Four months ago I hurt my finger, when
I tried to help a neighbor up who fell.
The woman’s old but mean; she flailed and then
my pinky twisted and began to swell.
Ensuing bruising purpled half my hand,
retreating daily till it reached the point
of undiscolored balk at my command,
and added an enlargement of the joint.

A bump! Am I a gnarly woman now?
Is this the first, or only? Can I fix
the knuckle? I’m afraid I’m feeling how
new normal works for someone sixty-six.
Suspecting that this growth is growth’s reverse,
God willing I’ll be here to see it worse.

This entry was posted in Aging, Health, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

